Sign up for Email Updates


On January 31, 2014, the Barack Obama Foundation was established to oversee planning for President Obama’s future presidential library. On March 20, the Foundation released a Request for Qualifications (RFQ), to solicit responses from institutions or other parties interested in hosting the library. On June 16, the University of Chicago submitted a response to the RFQ in collaboration with organizations and civic leaders on the South Side and across Chicago. On September 15, the Foundation announced that the University of Chicago‘s collaborative effort has been selected for the next round in the foundation’s site selection process and issued a Request for Proposal (RFP). On December 11, the University of Chicago submitted a collaborative response to the RFP. The Barack Obama Foundation has indicated that it will announce the selection of a proposal in early 2015. Visit the Foundation website.

The University of Chicago

  • One of the world's premier academic and research institutions, the University of Chicago has driven new ways of thinking since our 1890 founding. Today, UChicago is an intellectual destination that draws inspired scholars to our Hyde Park and international campuses, keeping UChicago at the nexus of ideas that challenge and change the world.
  • Located in one of the world's greatest cities, UChicago is enriched by and invested in the community we call home. We are the second-largest private employer in Chicago. Our talented faculty, physicians, and staff compose a dedicated team committed to the mission of the University.
  • We partner with our South Side neighbors on innovative initiatives with local benefits and replicable outcomes for urban universities everywhere. Meanwhile, our research and ideas have broad impact, crossing borders to drive international conversations. The same is true of our diverse and creative students and alumni, who found businesses, create masterpieces, and win Nobel Prizes.

Faculty Committee

A committee of University of Chicago faculty members examined presidential libraries and concluded that it would be in the interest of the University to help bring such a project to the South Side. The following faculty members serve on the committee.

Andrew Abbott

Gustavus F. and Ann M. Distinguished Service Professor Department of Sociology

Shadi Bartsch-Zimmer

Helen A. Regenstein Distinguished Service Professor Department of Classics and the Program in Gender Studies

Kerwin Charles

Edwin and Bettly L. Bergman Distinguished Service Professor Harris School of Public Policy

Cathy Cohen

David and Mary Winton Green Professor Department of Political Science

Jonathan Lear

John U. Nef Distinguished Service Professor Committee on Social Thought and Department of Philosophy

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade

Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor Medicine and Human Genetics

Randal C. Picker

James Parker Hall Distinguished Service Professor Law School

Stephen M. Stigler

Ernest DeWitt Burton Distinguished Service Professor Department of Statistics and the College

Geoffrey R. Stone

Committee Chair Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor, Law School

Thank you for your support!

President and Mrs. Obama are bringing the presidential center home to the South Side of Chicago.

Learn more

More in this section

OPL South Side Supporters

More ยป